Laughing at other peoples’ lives

There is a reason why home videos showing flops, accidents and slips on TV are still popular: Seeing other people fail makes many people feel better about their own lives.

Who are you laughing at? (By ericmcgregor)

Seeing little boys and girls trip over their own feet, seeing cats fall into swimming pools, seeing aunts and uncles falling into wedding cakes – that was something we have seen on TV for years.

But now it goes web 2.0.

After I ‘liked’  the ‘SMS from last night’ app on facebook, some friends pointed fmylife.com out to me. “Have a look at it whenever you want to laugh hard and feel better about your life,” they said.

Well, I like a good laugh and so I checked out the site. “Get the guts to spill the beans” – the slogan under the logo of Fmylife says.

I have to admit: some of the stuff is hilarious, some is stupid, some is gros.

Here are a few examples:

  • Today, I bit my boyfriend’s neck . I felt something squirt into my mouth. Turns out I had just popped a pimple on his neck. Into my mouth. FML
  • Today, I forgot to do my French homework, but since it was an online worksheet, I told my teacher my internet wasn’t working. I told her with an e-mail. FML
  • Today, I asked my boyfriend what celebrity I look like. He thought long and hard, then said “Sarah Jessica Parker.” I gasped and told him that I find her extremely hideous. He replied “So do I.” FML
  • Today, my girlfriend of two years broke up with me. She wants to try dating women. This is the second time this has happened to me. FML

You even get to rate them as “I agree, your life sucks” or “You totally deserved it”. Guess which category has more votes most of the time…

But there is more to these kinds of sites than just making yourself feel better. It is also the kind of nice ability to laugh about your own humanity.

Things like these may happen to all of us. We find ourselves in awkward situations, say something stupid and the lesson we might learn from sites like fmylife.com is that the best way of getting out is to just laugh it off.

Honestly, even though it’s anonymous I am full of respect for these people who have the guts to spill the beans about their flaws and kind of their humanity.

This entry was posted in Findings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

