A: Here is my darkest, most hurtful secret. B: Tell me all about it.

They say that it is best to not keep your problems to yourself but talk about them. But what if your problem is so big or so embarrassing that you feel you just can’t? Compassionpit.com is the solution.

The place to savely pour your heart out: The CompassionPit.

While stumbling with StumbleUpon, I came across the compassion pit – a baby blue, very simple website with two options and one purpose:

Anonymous venting to anonymous listeners from all over the world.

A concept that makes a lot of sense: By not knowing the other person you can be brutally honest.

There is no real judgement no matter what the problem may be, and even if there is, it doesn’t matter, as you will never talk to this person again.

The problems discussed

The more time you spent in the pit, the more diverse the problems get.

There are people fearing to be pregnant, unable to tell their parents. (“My mum hates kids, but I live with her and am unemployed.”)

There are people fearing to be gay, unable to tell their friends. (“Whenever we say “My kids will be able to do this and that” I feel like I’m lying.”)

Or there are people who feel they are inadequate as they are having problems talking to the opposite sex.

And there are many many more problems that involve friends and parents so that the venter can’t talk to them about it.

Disadvantages

Unfortunately, the language in the pit is English, which means that it excludes quite a lot of people

Probably that also makes it harder for non mother tongue English speakers to find the right words for their feelings.

Furthermore, a satisfying talk depends on the listener or venter you meet.

Because obviously there are feelings involved and if the dialogue is only taken seriously from one side the other might get hurt.

The problem with the anonymity is that people do not really care and just leave you hanging in mid air by quitting the conversation

Conclusion

The CompassionPit is a very nice use of the vastness of the Internet and the anonymity.

It offers listeners and venters the opportunity to say what they think, reveal secrets and probably lift some kind of burden from them in a way that harms no one.

But that’s the best case: Of course there are people who abuse the honesty and vulnerability of others, which friends and family would probably not.

On the other hand the pit offers international new opinions and views on your situation and problems.

So, I guess, venting and listening to the world that way is definitely worth a try.

Read other blogs on compassion pit and other opinions on online ranting here.

Find blogger Whitney Moore’s thoughts on compassion here or read about ‘compassion day‘ here.

This entry was posted in Findings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A: Here is my darkest, most hurtful secret. B: Tell me all about it.

  1. Sue says:

    Thank you for linking my blog, Stefanie!

    Your post has valid points with regard to Compassion Pit. The one I am most concerned with is the people who abuse the application.

    I do love the concept; if used properly, it can be a fabulous blessing to both the listener and venter.

    • Hi Sue, thank you for your comment. Yes, I believe you are exactly right. If both listener and venter treat each other with respect and honesty, this website is a real blessing. 🙂

  2. Sebastian says:

    Hey, thanks for that. Just tried it for an hour or so, helped two perfect strangers. Feels good.

    • Hi Sebastian. Yeah, I feel the same way. As long as you take the other person seriously talking might actually help. But also, I have to admit that I am a bit nosy and like hearing other people’s secrets. 🙂 But that’s probably part of being a journalist. 🙂

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly
    appreciated. Many thanks

  4. sleep aids says:

    This is the perfect blog for everyone who wants to
    understand this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).

    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic which
    has been written about for years. Wonderful stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

